salt stack

Salt Information

AusSalt has extensive experience in all aspects of solar salt production, solar salt refining and also in salt product development and marketing.

Contact us for technical advice on solar salt production, refining, selling and marketing.

Contact us for advice on salt suppliers, salt buying, salt specifications, salt purchasing.

solar salt

Solar Salt Production Process

Sea water or brine is pumped into evaporation ponds where the action of the wind and sun evaporate the water. As the brine solution concentrates, it reaches a point where precipitation of the dissolved salts commences. The various salts then crystallise out of solution based upon their different solubilities. Management of the brine ensures that crystallisers are fed with brine at the appropriate salt concentration to deposit salts with a high proportion of sodium chloride salt. The salt yield depends on a number of factors including the area of ponds, evaporation and rainfall as well as the sea water or brine input concentration. Deposited salt is normally harvested annually.

solar salt

Solar Salt Composition

Solar Salt is produced from either sea water or underground brine.  The water or brine source contains a range of dissolved salts including common sodium chloride.

Sea water is 3.42% dissolved salts and 96.58% water. The major dissolved salts are as follows:

sodium chloride 2.68%
magnesium chloride 0.32%
magnesium sulphate 0.22%
calcium sulphate 0.12%
potassium chloride 0.07%

Solar Salt Links and Australian Product Reference Sites

Salt Institute www.saltinstitute.org

Solar Salt Products www.solarsalt.com.au
Pool Salt Products  www.poolsalt.com.au
Water Softener Salt Products  www.watersoftenersalt.com.au
Skin Salt Products www.skinsalt.com.au
Stock Feed Salt Products www.stockfeedsalt.com.au
Vacuum Salt Products www.vacuumsalt.com.au
Iodised Salt Products  www.iodisedsalt.com.au
Food Salt Products  www.foodsalt.com.au

 

Mulgundawa Salt